Review of “The Twelfth Planet” Book I of “The Earth Chronicles” by Zecharia Sitchin

12th_planet

When I first picked up this book after inheriting it, and all the books in Sitchin’s “Earth Chronicles,” with their companion volumes from an acquaintance, I had no idea what I was getting into. I thought I did, but really I didn’t. I have always been fascinated by extraterrestrial life, and firmly believe in it, and am enamored by the theory of ancient astronauts. There is no possibly way, in my mind, that such ancient megalithic marvels throughout the known world were built without help from beings far more technologically advanced than the humans of that time. Nor do I believe that Sumer, the first supposed human civilization, just popped out of nowhere and flourished. No, it had to have come from beyond, either extraterrestrially  or extradimensionally.
As a Christian, I have always found the account of the Creation found in the Bible to be in all probability an allegory. Well, “The Twelfth Planet” examines that origin story and many other phenomenal ones, and plunges deep into rather earth-shaking answers with archaeological evidence to back it up that we were seeded by beings from distant worlds. Now that to me doesn’t invalidate the existence of a Supreme Being, or of the Redeemer, Jesus Christ, but the answers you come across in this book may be deeply troubling if you are a more traditional, Bible-believing Christian. It would have bothered me more if I wasn’t so open-minded about such things. Now granted, some of the theories put into this book I do not agree with, such as revealing that the Serpent in the Garden of Eden was a hero and not a villain, but yet you cannot shake the archaeological evidence of the ancient Sumerian Cuneiform Tablets that states that there was a civilization that predated the Judaic peoples and their stories of origin. There was an earlier Noah, and an earlier Adam, all predating their Judaic counterparts by thousands of years, and how such people came to be will both amaze and unsettle you, maybe even deeply scar you if you are not prepared to take such possibilities as this book presents into consideration.
Still, I cannot help wondering, if aliens, “The Gods of Sumeria,” if you will, did land on this planet and seed life, where is the evidence of their advanced culture? Why aren’t we digging up layers of vast futuristic vertical cities akin to Coruscant in Star Wars? Where are the spaceports and the starships? The Annunaki didn’t all fold them up and take them with them when they left, did they?
Maybe these theories and stories are true, or maybe just some of it is true, or maybe none of it’s true at all. I guess it’s all up to the reader to decide with the evidence that is presented. Regardless, Zecharia Sitchin wrote a fascinating work with “The Twelfth Planet” that I absolutely devoured and couldn’t get enough of.
I give “The Twelfth Planet” by Zecharia Sitchin a 5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

