Review of “Star Wars: The Old Republic: Revan” by Drew Karpyshyn

10687840._UY475_SS475_

Revan; a name that has instilled both fear and hope in the heart of the Republic. This legendary figure was hailed as both hero as the Mandalorian Wars, and hated as a sinister Dark Lord of the Sith. At the hands of the Jedi, upon repentance, Revan was redeemed, by giving up his memories in return. Now a sinister threat is slowly encroaching on the Republic, and Revan must uncover his lost memories if he would prevent certain doom from devouring the galaxy…….

It’s been quite a while since I read a novel set in the Star Wars Universe. The last one I read I believe was “Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn, which was quite good. I never have completely played the “Knights of the Old Republic” rpg or “The Old Republic” mmorpg, and quite frankly, I’ve since lost interest in video games, but since the storyline looked interesting, I thought I would pick up the series of novels based on the mmorpg. I also decided to start chronologically back in the expanded universe of novels at the beginning and read all the way through, which I know will take quite a while. That’s why I began here.
I always enjoyed the ancient timeline of Star Wars, having read and been fascinated by the “Knights of the Old Republic” comics which came out long before the computer games ever did. This book didn’t disappoint. It brought some of that magic back. Revan makes a compelling flawed, tormented character, and it is very intriguing watching him unravel the secrets of his past. The villains, the revived Sith Empire, make convincing and fearsome antagonists, even if I found the way the Sith Emperor Vitiate was depicted to be a bit two-dimensional. They are nonetheless monstrous and evil through and through and are composed of everything that makes a Star Wars villain. Darth Vitiate makes Darth Sidious look like Mister Rogers, and Darth Scourge is a lot in personality like Vader.
Canderous Ordo and Meetra Surik, along with their lovable droid companion, T3-M4, make a good team of heroes with Revan, and the storyline that unfolds is engrossing and entertaining, with plenty of jaw-dropping action, adventure, battles, intrigue, and exotic locales. Such is and should be the staple of every Star Wars installment. I found it hard to put this book down, and it made me remember why I love Star Wars so much.
I give “The Old Republic: Revan” by Drew Karpyshyn a 4.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

