Review of “The Stepford Wives” by Ira Levin **WARNING SPOILERS!!**

stepford

When aspiring photographer Joanna Eberhart moves with her husband to the seemingly idyllic, peaceful town of Stepford, things start to go from inviting and warm to nightmarishly strange. Things are not at all what they seem and a terrifying secret waits below the surface….

My girlfriend bought this book for me to read because I’ve never seen either of the Stepford Wives film adaptations and wanted to see them recently, but I wanted to read the book on which they were based first. In reading this book, I must say I was a bit underwhelmed and disappointed. It’s creepy, yes, but not near as unsettling and chilling as it’s hyped up to be. I was expecting to see something like a vast secret facility of androids being watched over and controlled by the men of the town, like something out of the Terminator films, but nothing like that happened. This book was a bit too sedate for my tastes.
I give “The Stepford Wives” by Ira Levin a two out of five.

Leave a Reply

